When people first come to Jesus, they flourish. Then they start to waiver. They thought being a Christian would be easy and everything would turn to roses and rainbows. But that is not what occurs. In fact, at times, it’s harder to be a Christian than a nonbeliever.

spring-flowers-110671_1920At first, Christians flourish and blossom in God’s
word only to wilt later in their faith.

There are several reasons why this is.

  1. We, as Christians, think we need to be perfect once we become saved. Not true. No matter what, we will all sin. However, once we become Christians, we should want to do better. It’s even stated in the Bible we will sin. Romans 3:23 reminds us that For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God. So don’t run away and hide from God when you sin. Instead of trying to be perfect, fall to your knees when you’re not.
  2. Too many people think Christians are evil. It’s easy to tell who the bad guy is in a mystery if there’s a Christian on the show. The media portrays most Christians as crazy. We need to realize that it is rarely true that Christians are evil. Realize that most of what occurs in Hollywood is not Godlike. In fact, Satan has a stronghold. We need to stand up and prove to the world that these shows are untrue.
  3. People who claim to be Christian harmed another. This turns out to be our focus (especially the media) instead of the good other Christians have done. While there is some evil in the church, we must also look at the positive. Did you know that more Christian organizations feed the hungry than any other religion? Focus on the good and Jesus to get through your anger when others hurt you. And never allow the evil one to use another, even a supposed Christian, to turn you from God.
  4. The Church is out of touch. The leaders don’t speak on issues that affect our lives. This is no truer than with the homosexual debate. Some church leaders blame homosexuals for all things wrong in the world refusing to focus on problems like adultery, pornography, and thievery. Did you know that the divorce rate among believers is equal to that of nonbelievers? If your leaders are keeping silent on important issues that affect Christians, then talk to them. The best way to get the church to listen is to join small groups and get involved.
  5. Science keeps trying to disprove the existence of God. True scientists don’t try to prove or disprove, they go where the evidence leads them. A 2009 Pew Research poll showed that 51% of scientist believe in some form of deity or higher power.[i] If you believe in God, the last thing you’re going to do is try to disprove Him. And the more research these scientists do, the more they grow in their faith. And so should you.
scientist-2141259_192051% of scientists believe in a higher diety.

It can be hard to be a Christian, but we need to stand firm in our belief and not waiver. The stronger we stand, especially with other Christians, the more we will show that our faith is true.

Remember Jesus is about the only stronghold left in this world. We must hold tight and not allow any hardships to harm our faith, no matter how hard it might be to stay true.

If you or someone you know is in need of prayer this week, please leave a comment. We’d be more than happy to pray for you. And if this post moved you in some way, please feel free to share it.

Sign up to receive a free book and my quarterly newsletter at http://eepurl.com/bEucsn

[i] http://www.pewforum.org/2009/11/05/scientists-and-belief/


It’s on all the talk shows. Movie and TV stars are discussing it. What is this new “in” thing? Bullying. Only it’s not something to use just to get viewers or for attention. It’s real. And in our society, it’s killing kids.

woman-1006102_19203.2 Million Students are Bullied Each Year

We hear the news stories all the time about a teen who commits suicide, and the parents blame bullying. They wonder why the schools didn’t do anything. I wonder where the parents were.

In most cases, bullies pick on those with pour self-esteem. Why? Because they’re easy prey. Most victims are not outgoing. In some cases they feel invisible not only at school, but home as well. These kids are lonely and don’t feel like anyone is listening.

Psalm 127:3 says to Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Children are important, and we need to let them know this.

A teacher spends six hours a day with thirty students. She can’t be expected to keep up with them all and know the ins and outs of each student’s life. It’s the parents’ job to know when there is something bothering their child. Parents need to notice when something is wrong. Too often we blow off issues as teen angst.

self-confidence-2076799_1920Parents can be the best protection againts bullying
by building a child’s self-esteem and being aware.

We need to talk to our children. And build their self-esteem. Start when they are young. Don’t expect your child to know you love them. Tell them. Every day. Treat them as if they’re important, which might mean turning off the phone sometimes. Send notes in their lunch with inspirational quotes. Bible verses that tell of God’s love for them. Tack a note on their mirror each morning letting them know they are loved.


When people hurt you over and over, think of them like sand paper; They may scratch and hurt you a bit, but in the end, you end up polished and they end up useless. – Chris Colfer, actor


Parents need to step up and show their children how important they are not only in the family setting, but to God as well. It’s hard for a bully to get through when God and parents have that child surrounded with love. And the best way to show a child you care is with action.

If you or someone you know is in need of prayer this week, please leave a comment. We’d be more than happy to pray for you. And if this post moved you in some way, please feel free to share it.

Sign up to receive a free book and my quarterly newsletter at http://eepurl.com/bEucsn



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,784 other followers


%d bloggers like this: